Use of Mobile Devices

The management scenarios specified on this page are scheduled to be replaced by end of August 2021. Due to absences the activation has been postponed from July to August. For a reference of what to expect afterwards, please consider these pages:

Pilot: Use of Privately Owned Mobile Devices
Pilot: Use of UZH Owned Mobile Devices

 

If you would like to use Microsoft 365 (or components thereof, e.g. teams) on your mobile device, additional security requirements must be met for its use in compliance with data protection regulations. For example, every mobile device must be protected with a password or code so that the data is not freely accessible if the device is lost.


In order to make the configuration as user-friendly as possible and at the same time to ensure that all necessary settings are made, UZH uses the "Intune Enterprise Portal". This is a so-called Mobile Device Management System (MDM), i.e. software that checks and manages the security settings of mobile devices.

Which settings are checked on the mobile devices?

  1. Password: Each mobile device must be protected by a password.
    1. The password may not be simple (e.g. ascending numbers) and must be at least 6 characters long.
    2. After 10 incorrect password entries, the device must be deleted.
    3. In case of inactivity, the device must be locked after 5 minutes (password entry required thereafter).
  2. Data:
    1. Microsoft 365 UZH data must be stored on the device in encrypted form so that other apps cannot access it.
    2. It must be possible to delete the data from Office 365 UZH in the event of equipment loss or leaving the UZH.
  3. Device security:
    1. The device must run with original software from the manufacturer (no hacked version such as jail-break or root access).
    2. Microsoft offers the Office 365 apps via the official portals of Android, iOS and Windows (Google Play Store, App Store and Windows Store). It may not be possible to install the apps due to outdated hardware or software.

How does MDM work?

After installing the corporate portal app from the appropriate store and logging in with a Microsoft 365 UZH account, the security requirements are checked and a management profile is installed. In addition to the security settings, the profile also contains the account information and allows access to UZH data with the Office 365 applications (e.g. OneDrive, OneNote, Word, Excel, PowerPoint). If the profile is removed by the user or the UZH administrator, all Office 365 UZH data and account information is automatically deleted from the device. Direct access to the data stored on the device or the user's connection data is not possible.

MDM functions

  1. Selective deletion (Retire):
    By deleting the management profile, all Microsoft 365 UZH data and account information can be deleted from the device without changing any other data on the device. This can be accomplished manually by the user in device settings. Alternatively, the user can delete the management profile in the Microsoft 365 Portal or the Enterprise Portal App (even from another device). In addition to this self-service, it is also possible to have the profile deleted by an administrator, for example if the user does not have access to the self-service options mentioned above.
  2. Reset to factory settings (wipe):
    Just as selective deletion, a device can also be deleted completely. This makes sense especially in case of loss or theft of the device, as private data on the device is also deleted.
  3. Locating the device:
    Through the Microsoft 365 Portal, the location of the device can be determined by the user (self-service) or an administrator. In addition to simply locating a device, this information can also be used for safety rules. For example, it is possible to block access from certain countries.
  4. Security settings:
    As long as the management profile is installed on the device, the device itself ensures that the security settings described above are maintained. If the profile is removed, the Microsoft 365 UZH data is deleted and the device is no longer managed.
  5. Device data
    The administrator is able to:
    • View model, serial number and operating system
    • Identify your device by name
    • Reset lost or stolen devices to factory settings (Only on explicit instruction of the user)
    • View apps you have installed*
    • Display the phone number of your device*.
    • View information collected by enterprise apps and networks*
    • View the location of a lost device*
    *) Functions currently not available. So far we use the integrated MDM of Microsoft 365, but if we use an additional MDM solution later on, the marked functions would be possible additionally. Using an additional MDM solution makes sense, for example, if we want to add apps, WLAN or VPN settings automatically on the mobile devices.
    The administrator is not able to:
    • View the browsing history on your device
    • View personal e-mail, documents, contacts, or calendars
    • Display data from other apps
    • Accessing your passwords
    • View, edit or delete your photos
    Further information
    Further information about the possibilities of the MDM solution used can be found under the following link:
    Capabilities of Basic Mobility and Security

 

Use without MDM

If a device does not meet the security requirements, or if a user does not want to install MDM, Microsoft 365 UZH cannot be accessed through the Microsoft Apps. In this case, restricted functionality is available via the browser of the device (https://portal.office.com). However, this variant does not offer any offline options.

 

Use of private devices

In general, the use of private devices is permitted with Microsoft 365 UZH. However, the Central IT reserves the right to block devices in case of misuse or for security reasons and to delete Microsoft 365 UZH data. Microsoft 365 UZH data is stored separately from the existing data on the devices in so-called accounts. This allows parallel operation of different Microsoft 365 accounts on a single device. However, multiple management profiles cannot be installed.

 

Backup of mobile devices

It is strongly recommended to make regular backups of the mobile devices. Device backups do not include Microsoft 365 UZH data, but they are backed up within Microsoft 365. Central IT does not offer support for the recovery of private data, please contact the respective manufacturer support.

Store accounts (iCloud, Google Play, ...)

Please do not use an UZH e-mail address for the registration of your store accounts, as you will not be able to access purchased content such as apps and music or your backups if you leave UZH.

Information about Intune Enterprise Portal (MDM): https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/mem/intune/user-help/use-managed-devices-to-get-work-done

Self Service Portal to manage the personal devices: https://portal.manage.microsoft.com/devices

Nutzung von Mobilgeräten

Die auf dieser Seite beschriebenen Verwaltungsmethoden werden gerade pilotiert und sollen die bestehenden Methoden per Ende August 2021 ablösen. Aufgrund von Ferienabwesenheiten wurde die Aktivierung von Juli auf August verschoben. 

Bitte beachten Sie folgende Links:
Pilot: Nutzung von privaten Mobilgeräten
Pilot: Nutzung von UZH-eigenen Mobilgeräten

 

Möchten Sie Microsoft 365 (oder Komponenten davon, wie z.B. Teams) auf Ihrem Mobilgerät nutzen, müssen für den datenschutzkonformen Einsatz zusätzliche Sicherheitsanforderungen eingehalten werden. So muss beispielsweise jedes Mobilgerät über ein Passwort oder einen Code gesichert werden, damit die Daten beim Verlust des Gerätes nicht frei zugänglich sind.

Um die Konfiguration möglichst benutzerfreundlich zu gestalten und gleichzeitig alle notwendigen Einstellungen sicherstellen zu können, setzt die UZH das "Intune Unternehmensportal" ein. Dabei handelt es sich um ein so genanntes Mobile Device Management System (MDM), also eine Software, welche die Sicherheitseinstellungen der Mobilgeräte prüft und verwaltet.

Welche Einstellungen werden auf Mobilgeräten geprüft?

  1. Passwort: Jedes Mobilgerät muss mittels Passwort geschützt sein.
    1. Das Passwort darf nicht zu einfach sein (z.B. aufsteigende Zahlen) und muss mindestens 6 Zeichen lang sein.
    2. Nach 10 fehlerhaften Passworteingaben muss das Gerät gelöscht werden.
    3. Bei Inaktivität muss das Gerät nach 5 Minuten gesperrt werden (Passworteingabe notwendig).
  2. Daten:
    1. Die Daten von Microsoft 365 UZH müssen verschlüsselt auf dem Gerät gespeichert werden, so dass andere Apps nicht zugreifen können.
    2. Die Daten von Microsoft 365 UZH müssen bei Geräteverlust oder Austritt aus der UZH gelöscht werden können.
  3. Gerätesicherheit:
    1. Das Gerät muss mit Original-Software des Herstellers laufen (keine gehackten Version mit Jail-Break oder Root-Zugriff).
    2. Microsoft bietet die Microsoft 365 Apps über die offiziellen Portale von Android, iOS und Windows an (Google Play Store, App-Store und Windows-Store). Ggf. ist die Installation der Apps aufgrund von veralteter Hard- oder Software nicht möglich.

Wie funktioniert MDM?

Nach der Installation der Unternehmensportal App aus dem entsprechenden Store und der Anmeldung mit einem Microsoft 365 UZH Konto werden die Sicherheitsanforderungen überprüft und ein Verwaltungsprofil installiert. Das Profil enthält neben den Sicherheitseinstellungen auch die Kontoinformationen und erlaubt den Zugriff auf UZH Daten mit den Microsoft 365 Applikationen (z.B. OneDrive, OneNote, Word, Excel, PowerPoint). Wenn das Profil durch den Benutzer oder den UZH Administrator entfernt wird, werden automatisch alle Microsoft 365 UZH Daten und Kontoinformationen von dem Gerät gelöscht. Ein direkter Zugriff auf die auf dem Gerät gespeicherten Daten oder die Verbindungsdaten des Beutzers ist nicht möglich.

MDM Funktionen

  1. Selektives Löschen (Retire):
    Durch das Löschen des Verwaltungsprofils können alle Microsoft 365 UZH Daten und Kontoinformationen von dem Gerät gelöscht werden, ohne andere Daten auf dem Gerät zu verändern. Die Löschung kann manuell durch den Benutzer in den Geräteeinstellungen vorgenommen werden. Alternativ kann der Benutzer dies über das Microsoft 365 Portal oder die Unternehmensportal App (auch von einem anderen Gerät aus) durchführen. Neben diesem Self-Service besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Löschung durch einen Administrator ausführen zu lassen, z.B. falls der Benutzer keinen Zugang zu den genannten Self-Service Optionen hat.
  2. Auf Fabrikzustand zurücksetzen (Wipe):
    Analog zum selektiven Löschen kann ein Gerät auch komplett gelöscht werden. Dies macht vor allem bei Verlust des Gerätes oder Diebstahl Sinn, da so auch private Daten auf dem Gerät gelöscht werden.
  3. Ortung des Gerätes:
    Über das Microsoft 365 Portal kann der Standort des Gerätes durch den Benutzer (Self-Service) oder einen Administrator ermittelt werden. Neben dem reinen Auffinden eines Gerätes kann diese Information auch für Sicherheitsregeln verwendet werden. So ist es z.B. möglich, den Zugriff aus bestimmten Ländern zu sperren.
  4. Sicherheitseinstellungen:
    Solange das Verwaltungsprofil auf dem Gerät installiert ist, wird die Einhaltung der oben beschriebenen Sicherheitseinstellungen vom Gerät selbst sichergestellt. Wenn das Profil entfernt wird, werden die Microsoft 365 UZH Daten gelöscht und das Gerät ist nicht mehr verwaltet.
  5. Gerätedaten
    Der Administrator kann:
    • Modell, Seriennummer und Betriebssystem anzeigen
    • Ihr Gerät anhand des Namens identifizieren
    • Verlorene oder gestohlene Geräte auf Werkseinstellungen zurücksetzen (nur auf ausdrückliche Anweisung des Benutzers)
    • Apps anzeigen, die Sie installiert haben*
    • Telefonnummer Ihres Geräts anzeigen*
    • Von Unternehmens-Apps und -Netzwerken gesammelte Informationen anzeigen*
    • Standort eines verlorenen Gerätes anzeigen*
    * Funktionen aktuell nicht verfügbar. Wir verwenden bisher das integrierte MDM von Office 365. Falls wir später eine zusätzliche MDM-Lösung einsetzen, wären die gekennzeichneten Funktionen zusätzlich möglich. Der Einsatz einer zusätzlichen MDM-Lösung macht z.B. Sinn, wenn wir Apps, WLAN- oder VPN-Einstellungen automatisch auf den Mobilgeräten hinzufügen möchten.
    Der Administrator kann nicht:
    • Den Browserverlauf auf Ihrem Gerät anzeigen
    • Persönliche E-Mails, Dokumente, Kontakte oder Kalender anzeigen
    • Daten von anderen Apps anzeigen
    • Auf Ihre Kennwörter zugreifen
    • Ihre Fotos anzeigen, bearbeiten oder löschen
    Weiterführendes Informationen
    Weitere Informationen zu den Möglichkeiten der eingesetzten MDM Lösung finden Sie unter folgendem Link:
    Capabilities of Basic Mobility and Security

 

Nutzung ohne MDM

Wenn ein Gerät die Sicherheitsanforderungen nicht erfüllt, oder ein Benutzer kein MDM installieren möchte, ist der Zugriff auf Microsoft 365 UZH über die Microsoft Apps nicht möglich. In diesem Fall können eingeschränkte Funktionen über den Browser des Gerätes (https://portal.office.com) genutzt werden. Diese Variante bietet jedoch keine Offline-Möglichkeiten.

 

Nutzung von Privatgeräten

Grundsätzlich ist die Nutzung von Privatgeräten für Microsoft 365 UZH erlaubt. Die Zentrale Informatik hält sich jedoch das Recht vor, Geräte bei Missbrauch oder aus Sicherheitsgründen zu sperren und die Microsoft 365 UZH Daten zu löschen. Die Microsoft 365 UZH Daten werden getrennt von den bestehenden Daten auf den Geräten in so genannten Konten abgelegt. Dadurch ist ein Parallelbetrieb von verschiedenen Microsoft 365 Konten auf einem einzelnen Gerät möglich. Jedoch können nicht mehrere Verwaltungsprofile installiert werden.

 

Backup der Mobilgeräte

Es wird dringend empfohlen, regelmässig Backups von den Mobilgeräten zu erstellen. Geräte-Backups enthalten keine Microsoft 365 UZH Daten, diese werden jedoch innerhalb von Microsoft 365 gesichert. Die Zentrale Informatik bietet keinen Support für die Wiederherstellung von privaten Daten, bitte wenden Sie sich hierfür an den jeweiligen Hersteller-Support.

Store-Konten (iCloud, Google Play,...)

Bitte verwenden Sie für die Registrierung ihrer Store-Konten keine UZH E-Mailadresse, da sie bei einem Austritt aus der UZH so nicht mehr auf gekaufte Inhalte wie Apps und Musik oder Ihre Backups zugreifen könnten.

Informationen zu Intune Unternehmensportal (MDM): https://docs.microsoft.com/de-ch/mem/intune/user-help/use-managed-devices-to-get-work-done

Self Service Portal zum verwalten der persönlichen Geräte: https://portal.manage.microsoft.com/devices