Multifactor Authentication Setup

What is multifactor authentication?

You probably know it from your private online banking or already from Microsoft Office 365 or Teams at UZH. When logging into an online application, you have to log in with a second factor in addition to your username and password.

Why multifactor authentication?

Protecting access to online applications and the information saved therein via user name and password alone is no longer sufficient today. The UZH is also not safe from cyber attacks. Therefore, relevant online applications with sensitive data and information are gradually secured with multifactor authentication. After Office365 and Teams, these are in particular the SAP web portals and other business-critical online applications.

How does multifactor authentication work at UZH?

You can choose between various second factors that can be used. On your mobile phone, you can use an authenticator app, receive a verification code via SMS or a phone call. You can also use a landline phone to get the verification call.

How to set up multifactor authentication?

If you already use Microsoft Office365 or Teams at UZH, you have already set up multifactor authentication for yourself and can also use it for other applications. If this is not the case, you will be supported in setting up a second factor via a guided dialog when you log on for the first time with multifactor authentication.

Notes:

  • For home office use, we recommend the use of the mobile phone.
  • Authenticator app (e.g. from Microsoft: Download): The app must not be deleted after registration. Multifactor authentication must be confirmed regularly. The Authenticator app must also be reconfigured after a device change.
  • You can check and manage your settings for multifactor authentication here: Define the standard login method, change the login method, store additional login methods.
  • Recommendation - Store an additional login method. You can also log in if the selected access is not available (e.g. if your mobile phone is defective or lost).

Set up Multifactor Authentication

Detailed instructions and additional documentation from Microsoft: Link

Video "How to register for Azure Multi-Factor Authentication" from Microsoft

Video "Register and manage your security information" from Microsoft

Migrate Microsoft Authenticator to a New Device

After switching to a new mobile device, the authenticator app must be reinitialized. To avoid locking yourself out, you can add an alternative/additional authentication method to your account before you lose access to your previous device.

Log in at https://mysignins.microsoft.com/ and choose "Security info":

Account overview

Here you can add an (or more) additional logon method:

Authentication Method

Choose method type "Authenticator app" and follow the subsequent steps:

Add Authentication Method

As a result you can log on using your previous as well as your new device. We recommend to remove the sign-in method for your previous device as soon as you have completet switching devices.

See also video "Register and manage your security information" from Microsoft

Multifaktor-Authentifizierung

Was ist Multifaktor-Authentifizierung?

Sie kennen es vermutlich von ihrem privaten Online-Banking oder auch bereits vom Microsoft Office 365 oder Teams an der UZH. Beim Einloggen in eine Online-Anwendung müssen sie sich zusätzlich zu Benutzername und Passwort mit einem zweiten Faktor anmelden.

Weshalb Multifaktor-Authentifizierung?

Der Schutz des Zugriffs auf Online-Anwendungen und darin verwendete Informationen über Benutzername und Passwort allein reicht heute nicht mehr aus. Von Cyberattacken bleibt auch die UZH nicht verschont. Deshalb werden relevante Online-Anwendungen mit sensitiven Daten und Informationen schrittweise mit einer Multifaktor-Authentifizierung abgesichert. Nach Office365 und Teams sind dies insbesondere die SAP-Webportale sowie weitere geschäftskritische Online-Anwendungen.

Wie funktioniert die Multifaktor-Authentifizierung an der UZH?

Sie können selbst zwischen verschiedenen einsetzbaren zweiten Faktoren auswählen. Auf einem Mobiltelefon können sie eine Authenticator-App, eine Code-Zustellung via SMS oder einen Telefonanruf einsetzen. Für den Anruf können sie auch ein Festnetz-Telefon verwenden.

Wie wird die Multifaktor-Authentifizierung eingerichtet?

Wenn sie an der UZH bereits Microsoft Office365 oder Teams verwenden, haben sie die Multifaktor-Authentifizierung für sich bereits eingerichtet und können diese auch für weitere Anwendungen verwenden. Ist dies nicht der Fall, so werden sie bei der ersten Anmeldung mit Multifaktor-Authentifizierung über einen geführten Dialog beim Einrichten eines zweiten Faktors unterstützt.

Hinweise:

  • Bei Home-Office-Einsatz empfehlen wir die Verwendung des Mobiltelefons.
  • Authenticator-App (z.B. jene von Microsoft: Download): Die App darf nach der Registration nicht gelöscht werden. Die Multifaktor-Authentifizierung muss regelmässig bestätigt werden. Ebenso muss die Authenticator-App nach einem Gerätewechsel neu konfiguriert werden.
  • Ihre Einstellungen zur Multifaktor-Authentifizierung können Sie hier prüfen und verwalten: Standard-Anmeldemethode festlegen, Anmeldemethode wechseln, zusätzliche Anmeldemethoden hinterlegen.
  • Empfehlung - Zusätzliche Anmeldemethode hinterlegen. So können sie sich auch einloggen, wenn der gewählte Zugang nicht zur Verfügung steht (z.B. bei Defekt oder Verlust ihres Mobiltelefons).

Einrichten der Multifaktor-Authentifikation

Detaillierte Anleitung und weiterführende Dokumentation von Microsoft: Link

Englisches Video "How to register for Azure Multi-Factor Authentication" von Microsoft

Englisches Video "Register and manage your security information" von Microsoft

Microsoft Authenticator auf ein neues Gerät migrieren

Die Authenticator-App muss nach einem Gerätewechsel neu konfiguriert werden. Damit man sich beim Gerätewechsel nicht selber ausschliesst, kann man den Microsoft Authenticator auf dem neuen Gerät als zusätzliche Anmeldemethode hinterlegen.

Melden Sie sich dazu unter folgendem Link an und wählen Sie den Menüpunkt "Sicherheitsinformationen":

Kontoübersicht

Hier können Sie eine (oder mehrere) weitere Methode hinzufügen:

Authentifizierungs-Methoden

Wählen Sie die Methode "Authenticator-App" und folgen Sie den weiteren Schritten:

Authentifizierungs-Methode hinzufügen

Danach können Sie Ihr altes und ihr neues Gerät für die Anmeldung verwenden. Sobald Sie Ihren Wechsel aufs neue Gerät abgeschlossen haben, empfehlen wir die Anmelde Methode für das alte Gerät zu löschen.

Siehe auch englisches Video "Register and manage your security information" von Microsoft