Video Conferencing

What is Video Conferencing?

Video conferencing systems enable the fast and inexpensive exchange of information between people all over the world.
At the University of Zurich, there are several ways to hold a video conference. These services are open to all UZH members and are free of charge, with some exceptions. Please observe our Terms and Conditions.

Desktop Video Conferencing

Desktop video conferencing is the optimal solution for online meetings or conferences with presentations on your computer and is optimized for one person per room, each with a headset.

Lecture Room Video Conference

If you would like to hold your event in a lecture room at UZH with participants in lecture rooms at other universities, we will gladly assist you. During lecture room video conferences, the camera image and sound are transmitted bidirectionally, while the presentation may also be transmitted unidirectionally. Please contact us beforehand to ensure that all of the technical and organizational planning as well as the necessary technical installations can be taken care of on schedule. Please contact us through our application form or by phone: 044 634 24 51.

Lectures with External Instructors

The event is held as a video conference, with the students attending from the lecture room.
As the instructor, you are at home, in your office, in a hotel, or at another acoustically suitable location and will hold your lecture from your computer (audio via headset plus camera image and/or presentation).
This setup limits student interaction, e.g. asking questions, and thus requires a moderator in the lecture room who operates the video conference with their own laptop.
Our registration form and further information may be found here: Lectures with external instructors.

UZH Video Conferencing Rooms

UZH video conferencing rooms are optimized for professional video conferences in a quiet and atmospheric environment. Depending on the number of participants, UZH offers several different video conferencing rooms.

Videokonferenz

Was ist eine Videokonferenz?

Videokonferenzsysteme ermöglichen einen schnellen und günstigen Informationsaustausch zwischen Personen auf der ganzen Welt.
An der Universität Zürich haben Sie mehrere Möglichkeiten, eine Videokonferenz durchzuführen. Die Dienstleistungen stehen allen Angehörigen der UZH offen und sind mit Ausnahmen kostenlos. Bitte beachten Sie unsere Auftragsbedingungen.

Desktop-Videokonferenz

Eine Desktop-Videokonferenz eignet sich optimal für Online-Meetings oder Konferenzen mit Präsentationen auf Ihrem Computer und ist für 1 Person pro Raum mit Headset optimiert.

Hörsaal-Videokonferenz

Wenn Sie Ihre Veranstaltung in einem Hörsaal der UZH durchführen wollen und gleichzeitig auch Personen in Hörsälen anderer Hochschulen daran teilnehmen, dann benötigen Sie unseren Support. Bei Hörsaal-Videokonferenzen wird das Kamerabild mit Ton bidirektional übertragen, die Präsentation kann unidirektional mitübertragen werden. Bitte melden Sie sich rechtzeitig bei uns, damit die technische und organisatorische Planung sowie die notwendigen technischen Installationen termingerecht erfolgen können. Antragsformular oder 044 634 24 51 

Zuschaltung externer Dozierender

Die Veranstaltung wird als Videokonferenz gehalten, die Studierenden befinden sich aber im Hörsaal.
Als DozentIn sind Sie zu Hause oder im Büro, in einem Hotel oder an einem anderen akustisch geeigneten Ort und halten Ihre Vorlesung von Ihrem Computer aus (Audio via Headset plus Kamera-Bild und/oder Präsentation).
Die Möglichkeit für Rückfragen von den Studierenden ist eingeschränkt und muss moderiert werden. Im Hörsaal muss eine Moderationssperson mit ihrem eigenen Notebook sein und die Videokonferenz bedienen.
Den Link zum Anmeldeformular und weitere Informationen finden Sie hier: Zuschaltung externer Dozierender

UZH-Videokonferenzräume

Die UZH-Videokonferenzräume sind optimiert für professionelle Videokonferenzen in einer ruhigen und atmosphärisch dafür geschaffener Umgebung. Je nach Anzahl Teilnehmer stehen Ihnen unterschiedliche UZH-Videokonferenzräume zur Verfügung.