ScienceCluster

ScienceCluster is a batch-queue system capable of running different type of workloads including those requiring CPUs with a high speed interconnect and GPUs.

ScienceCluster and its different partitions run on top of ScienceCloud and is centrally managed by S3IT. Should your use case require some specific configuration, you also have the flexibility to setup your own virtual cluster using ScienceCloud.

Why would you need to run your application on ScienceCluster?

With a cluster you can access a set of machines that work together so that, in many respects, they can be viewed as a single system.

Our cluster gives you the possibility to choose the most suitable computational resources for each applications you need to run: CPU intensive workloads or workloads requiring a large amount of shared memory as well as workloads requiring a GPU accelerator.

How to get access

Before getting access to the ScienceCluster your group needs to have an S3IT Infrastructure Services agreement in place. After that, direct an authorized person (group leader / project owner or technical contact) to email S3IT and request that your account (i.e., username) be enabled under their ScienceCluster project. Once your account is enabled you'll have access to all cluster partitions. For more information on connecting to the cluster, refer to the relevant ScienceCluster documentation.

Want to know more?

Additional information about how to get access, usage policy, cost contributions, and further terms and conditions is available at the S3IT infrastructure page.

For any further questions, do not hesitate to contact us by sending an email to  contact@s3it.uzh.ch.

ScienceCluster

ScienceCluster ist ein Batch-System, das verschiedene Arten von Berechnungen ausführen kann, einschliesslich solcher, die CPUs mit einem hochperformantem Interconnect und GPUs erfordern.

ScienceCluster und seine verschiedenen Partitionen laufen auf ScienceCloud und werden zentral von S3IT verwaltet. Sollte Ihr Anwendungsfall eine spezifische Konfiguration erfordern, haben Sie auch die Flexibilität, Ihren eigenen virtuellen Cluster mit der ScienceCloud einzurichten.

Warum sollten Sie Ihre Anwendung auf ScienceCluster ausführen?

Mit einem Cluster können Sie auf eine Reihe von Rechnern zugreifen, die zusammenarbeiten, so dass sie in vielerlei Hinsicht als ein einziges System betrachtet werden können.

Unser Cluster gibt Ihnen die Möglichkeit, für jede Anwendung, die Sie ausführen müssen, die am besten geeigneten Rechenressourcen auszuwählen: CPU-intensive Berechnungen, oder Berechnungen die eine grosse Menge an Shared Memory benötigen, sowie Berechnungen, die einen GPU-Beschleuniger erfordern.

Wie Sie Zugang erhalten

Um ScienceCluster zu nutzen, benötigt Ihre Gruppe eine Vereinbarung zur Nutzung der S3IT Infrastructure Services. Eine berechtigte Person (Gruppenleitung, "Owner" oder "Technical Contact" des Gruppenkontos) kann dann per E-Mail an S3IT den Zugang zu ScienceCluster für Ihr Konto (d.h. Nutzernamen) freischalten lassen. Damit haben Sie Zugang zu allen Partitionen des Clusters. Für weitere Informationen zum Zugang konsultieren Sie bitte den entsprechenden Abschnit in der ScienceCluster Dokumentation.

Möchten Sie mehr wissen?

Zusätzliche Informationen zum Zugang, den Nutzungsbedingungen und Kostenbeiträgen finden Sie auf der S3IT Infrastruktur Seite.

Für weitere Fragen zögern Sie nicht, uns zu kontaktieren: contact@s3it.uzh.ch.