MOOC (Massive Open Online Courses)

The MOOC Coordination Office offers support and advice as regards the creation and implementation of Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs). MOOCs refer to video-based online courses with automated test forms which are available to the public without access restrictions and some of which are free of charge.

The MOOC Coordination Office is also tasked with bundling MOOC activities for the entire university and maintaining contact with the various platform providers. At present, UZH is the contractual partner of Coursera and the EPFL, which operates the «Swiss MOOC Service» platform.

The Executive Board of the University has decided to finance the SMS service for the time being until the end of 2022 and to finance it centrally. The faculties are responsible for 1st level support.

Exclusively video-based internal online courses or mixed learning courses will only receive financial support centrally via the competitive Teaching Fund. Please contact the Teaching Fund Team for this. The MELS Multimedia Production Group may be able to provide you with assistance in the production. Please use this form to contact MELS.

MOOC (Massive Open Online Courses)

Die MOOC-Koordinationsstelle bietet Unterstützung und Beratung bei der Erstellung und Durchführung von Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs). MOOCs bezeichnen videobasierte Onlinekurse mit automatisierten Testformen, die UZH-Studierenden wie auch der Öffentlichkeit ohne Zugangsbeschränkung teils kostenlos zur Verfügung stehen.

Die MOOC-Koordination hat zudem den Auftrag, die gesamtuniversitären MOOC-Aktivitäten zu bündeln und den Kontakt zu den verschiedenen Plattformanbietern zu pflegen. Momentan ist die UZH Vertragspartnerin von Coursera und der EPFL, welche die Plattform «Swiss MOOC Service» (SMS) betreibt.

Die Universitätsleitung hat beschlossen, die SMS-Dienstleistung vorerst bis Ende 2022 zu beziehen und zentral zu finanzieren. Für den 1st Level Support sind die Fakultäten zuständig.

Rein interne videobasierte Online- oder Blended-Learning-Kurse werden zentral nur noch über den kompetitiven Lehrkredit finanziell gefördert. Wenden Sie sich hierfür an das Team Lehrkredit. Bei der Umsetzung kann die Gruppe Multimediaproduktion von MELS Sie u.U. unterstützen, welche Sie am besten via Formular kontaktieren.