Leaving UZH (LCM)

Introduction: Life Cycle Management

Life Cycle Management deals with the life cycle of a user or a function in Identity Manager. In the case of a regular employment, an automatism is usually triggered 30 days before the first working day, which subsequently creates the person in Identity Manager and opens the accounts. When a user leaves, all user accounts are deactivated (set inactive) after 7 days and deleted after 30 days. Manually created persons have a lifetime of 6 months, after which the IT manager has to renew to ensure that the user still has access. If the lifetime of the manual person is not extended, the user will receive an e-mail for information as with the automatic person and the account will be deleted after 30 days.

What happens after leaving UZH?

If an employee is no longer employed or a student is exmatriculated, Life Cycle Management is activated. The person receives an e-mail informing him or her that the LCM process has been started. If he or she does nothing, all accounts are deactivated. If a person continues to work at an institute or central service regardless of their enrolment or employment, they must be manually managed again if access is not to be lost. To do this, the person must contact the IT manager of the institute.

What happens after leaving UZH?

If an employee is no longer employed or a student is exmatriculated, Life Cycle Management is activated. The person receives an e-mail informing him or her that the LCM process has been started. If he or she does nothing, all accounts are deactivated. If a person continues to work at an institute or central service regardless of their enrolment or employment, they must be manually managed again if access is not to be lost. To do this, the person must contact the IT manager of the institute.

What are the time limits of the LCM after leaving the UZH?

Students receive an e-mail 4 months after exmatriculation and then have 7 days to set up a forwarding and / or absence notification. Then the accounts are deactivated. The forwarding / notification of absence remains active for 30 days. The accounts are deleted 30 days after deactivation.

 

Employees receive an e-mail at the end of their employment that they have left UZH and their account is deactivated after 7 days and deleted after 30 days. During the first 7 days they have time to ONLY set up a possible absence notification.

 

The notification of absence (students and staff) remains active until the desired date, but for a maximum of 30 days. For institute e-mail addresses, however, this only applies if the institute role has not yet been revoked by the IT manager.