Citrix EQP

Citrix EQP – The Citrix Infrastructure of Central IT

Central IT's Citrix infrastructure Citrix EQP allows for more than 2000 authorized users to access central systems with Windows frontends, such as SAP, Aleph, Axioma, and others. The Citrix Workspace App allows users to connect to our Citrix infrastructure.

Request Citrix Access

  • UZH Citrix for front-end applications such as SAP, Aleph, Axioma and others
    • UZH members should contact their department's/institute's IT Coordinator.
    • Applications for members of the University Hospital (USZ) must be submitted to unikoordinator@usz.ch, otherwise they cannot be processed.
  • ZLS Citrix for front-end applications of central control systems:
    • Applications for ZLS Citrix must be submitted to louis.hauschild@uzh.ch, otherwise they cannot be processed.

Why Use Citrix?

The centrally administered virtual desktops or applications are at the heart of our Citrix infrastructure. This provides authorized users with access to all of the relevant applications and information:

  • at any time
  • from anywhere
  • from any terminal
  • Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android, and others
  • via any network connection
  • access from outside the UZH via VPN

Applications and data are thus moved from the individual terminal device to the secure environment of Central IT. Setting up a user device for access is simple; the only software necessary is our Citrix Workspace app. As soon as the user is logged into the Citrix infrastructure via the Citrix Workspace app, the desired applications are made available for use. The user's device displays the individual application interfaces and allows for an efficient workflow, as if the applications were installed locally. However, the applications are executed on the computer systems in the data centers of Central IT. The only information shared with the data center is mouse clicks, keyboard entries and screen updates. All data is transmitted across the network via 128-bit encryption.

Citrix EQP

Citrix EQP – Die Citrix Infrastruktur der Zentralen Informatik

Mit der Citrix Infrastruktur Citrix EQP ermöglichen wir über 2000 berechtigten Benutzerinnen und Benutzern den Zugang zu zentralen Systemen mit Windows Frontends wie SAP, Aleph, Axioma und weiteren. Der Zugang zur Citrix Infrastruktur erfolgt mit der sogenannten Citrix Workspace App.

Citrix Zugang beantragen

Weshalb Citrix?

Im Mittelpunkt einer Citrix Infrastruktur stehen die zentral administrierten virtuellen Desktops oder Applikationen. Über diese erhalten die berechtigten Benutzerinnen und Benutzer Zugang zu allen relevanten Anwendungen und Informationen:

  • zu jeder Zeit
  • von jedem Ort
  • von jedem Endgerät aus
    Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android und Weitere
  • über jede Netzwerkverbindung
    Zugriffe von ausserhalb der UZH erfolgen über VPN

Anwendungen und Daten werden so vom einzelnen Endgerät in die gesicherte Umgebung der Zentralen Informatik verlegt. Auf den Endgeräten muss nur die einfache Software Citrix Workspace App installiert werden. Sobald die Anmeldung an der Citrix Infrastruktur via Citrix Workspace App erfolgt ist, können die gewünschten Anwendungen gestartet werden. Auf dem Endgerät wird die Anwendungsoberfläche präsentiert und man kann mit ihr in beinahe gewohnter Weise arbeiten. Die Ausführung der Anwendungen findet jedoch auf den Computer Systemen in den Datacenters der Zentralen Informatik statt. Lediglich Mausklicks, Tastatureingaben und Bildschirm Updates werden zwischen Datacenter und Endgerät übertragen. Alle diese Daten werden mit einer 128-Bit Verschlüsselung auf dem Netzwerk transportiert.