Teaching and Studies

The business processes in teaching and studies are largely supported by SAPplus applications. The range of SAP-based online services for students, instructors, and staff is constantly being expanded and enhanced with mobile-capable technologies, e.g. the course catalogue or application to matriculate, which are based on the new SAP UI5 technology.

Student Administration

Student administration is the administration of data relating to students and the handling of the necessary steps, from application to withdrawal from the university. In addition to application and withdrawal from the university, this also includes, among other things:

  • Matriculation
  • Semester enrollment
  • Invoicing the fees
  • Official certificates
  • Leaves of absence
  • Incoming and outgoing mobility

These processes in the interplay between students, the department of students, and the faculties are handled with SAP support and, where possible, with the corresponding online services, such as for the application to matriculate, the change of study program, applications for leaves of absence, or changes of contact data.

Application

Prospective students enter their application in the corresponding online service, which has been implemented with the new SAP UI5 technology. This is followed by an automatic transfer to SAP Student Lifecycle Management (SLCM), where the applications are checked and processed by the Student Affairs department. This includes, for example, the creation of the applicant, correspondence if documents are missing, the invoicing of the registration fee, the approval of admission, and the issuing of the letter of admission.

If admission is granted on the basis of the available files, prospective students will receive an invoice for the tuition fees and will be legally matriculated upon payment of these fees. They will receive their student card, their confirmation of matriculation, and their access details for the UZH Internet and network.

Semester Enrollment

Students already enrolled at UZH are automatically re-enrolled for each semester so that they can continue to claim UZH benefits. Students can use an app in the student portal to submit applications that differ from these, for example:

  • Change of degree program with grade increase
  • Change of course or study program
  • Request for leave or internship
  • Exmatriculation

Invoicing of fees

After enrolling for the semester, students receive an invoice for the semester fees. Once the payment has been received, they will have access to the online module booking and will receive their student cards and the semester certificates.

In the event of the overpayment of fees by mistake, there is an online service through which the entire repayment process, including correspondence and payment transactions, can be handled with system support.

Course of Studies

For students of all Bachelor's and Master's programs, the entire course of study is managed using SAP Student Lifecycle Management (SLCM). This includes topics such as credit recognition, module booking, summary of credits, changes of program, and graduation, including diplomas and certificates. Students can also use a wide range of online services to view their summary of credits, book modules, and apply for a degree.

Student Portal

The student portal combines all of the relevant information on studying in one place. The web app offers students access to, for example, their registrations, their personal timetable, an overview of their ECTS credits earned so far, the transcript of records, an overview of their applications, and links to the course catalogue, to the module booking and to OLAT.

Module Booking

From fall semester 2022, UZH offers its students a module booking solution that allows modules to be booked without time pressure and in an efficient and intuitive way.

In preparation for module booking, students must ensure that they have paid their tuition fees. They plan which modules they want to book in the next semester and create a watch list in the course catalogue.

Via an app in the student portal, during the relevant deadlines, the modules from the watch list can be booked or requested. The booking modules (modules without restricted places) can be booked and canceled directly. For request and application modules (place-limited modules), students submit requests or applications during the specified deadlines. Places for request modules are assigned after the request deadline on the basis of the criteria published in the course catalogue. Students who do not receive a place in a requested module will be placed on a waiting list. For application modules, places are assigned manually by the faculties.

Students are informed by email about the assignment of their request and application modules. In addition, an app in the student portal provides them with an overview of all their booking, request and application modules with their respective status. This app can also be used, for example, to withdraw requests and applications during the respective deadlines, to adjust the priority of request modules, or to add comments and documents to application modules.

Employees have access to various apps in the CM portal for module booking, in which they can configure the request modules and the assignment procedure, for example, or obtain an overview of the current requests and applications.

Summary of Credits and Transcript of Records

The summary of credits can be accessed by all of the students of the University of Zurich who are enrolled in a Bachelor's or Master's program or who are enrolled in at least one program with ECTS credits. The transcript of records allows students to view all modules booked, cancelled or completed at the University of Zurich at any time as well as any other credited services, including those provided externally.

The semesterly transcript of records is made available to students electronically in the student portal. If required, copies printed on security paper and certified (where necessary) can be ordered in the portal also.

Failure Controlling and Bans

Twice a year after the grades have been entered into SAP SLCM by the faculties, it is determined which students have failed in each of the study programs. These unsuccessful attempts are recorded in the electronic student file and it is determined in which cases students are even excluded from a program or study program due to too many unsuccessful attempts.

The SAP solution covers all degree programs and study programs at the Bachelor's and Master's level that are awarded ECTS credits. For these courses and programs, it fully supports the process from the determination of students' failed attempts to the setting of bans and the correspondence to the students.

To determine the academic bans, the criteria mentioned in the respective framework regulations are checked and displayed as a proposal in SAP SLCM. The dean's offices verify these and complete the process by setting the bans. In those cases where someone receives a ban on a study program or course of study on which there is an enrollment, a final dismissal is made from it.

Graduation

With a few exceptions, UZH students initiate their own graduation process. To do so, they fill out a form, which they can download from the online services, and send it to the Dean's office. This downloading of the form initiates a workflow in SAP that manages the graduation process.

The Dean's office employees then use SAP SLCM to check that the students meet the formal requirements and that there are no locking notes, for example, due to unpaid fee invoices. If the conditions for graduation are not met, the students in question receive a letter to this effect and can apply for graduation again at a later date.

If the students meet all of the requirements, the Dean's office will compare their performance with the professional requirements for the degree. If this credit check is positive, the degree is awarded and the final documents are prepared. If the requirements are not yet fulfilled, this results in a letter of acceptance and the possibility of re-applying for the degree after the missing credits have been earned.

All of these steps are supported by the workflow in SAP SLCM. This workflow guides the employees involved through the entire process step-by-step, from student application to the issuing of the graduation documents. This requires complex technical system mappings and links between requirements, regulations, programs and study programs, academic achievements, etc., all of which are integral parts of the graduation process. The basis for this is, for example, the complete mapping of the course offerings in SAP SLCM or the requirements catalogues that contain the criteria required for graduation and are recorded for each study program. Information about the students and the modules they have attended is also of central importance at this point. For the credit transfer examination itself, you may have to take into account both the grades achieved at UZH as well as grades achieved at other universities, or you may have to take into account any requirements and conditions imposed by the master admissions process.

Course and Semester Planning

The semester-independent elements of all programs offered by UZH are mapped down to a module level in the program catalogue in SAP Student Lifecycle Management (SLCM). In the semester planning process, the courses offered in the respective semesters are then created based on the modules. In contrast to the modules, these are assigned a timeslot, a lecturer, and a room.

The UZH course catalogue has many applications, for example:

  • For issuing certificates to students
  • For display in the online module booking system
  • For publication in the UZH course catalogue or in the various course databases such as www.swissuniversity.ch.

Course Catalogue

UZH has a modern course catalogue, which can also be viewed on smartphones and tablets. It offers various search and filter options so that students can search for specific courses. In addition, it offers a calendar view in which time overlaps can be identified and which can also be printed out as a timetable. Students also have access to a storable watch list.

Our expertise database features historical information on events up to 1833.

CM portal

With the CM portal, UZH employees who work in the area of teaching and studies have a central entry point that provides quick access to the most important applications for their day-to-day work.These include, for example, the timetable, the list of participants or the overview of events held for members of the teaching staff, the application cockpit, or the course catalogue, but also evaluations, OLAT and the Service Desk, etc.

The CM portal meets the latest technical requirements and standards in terms of mobile device access and browser compatibility as well as data protection and has an excellent user experience. The CM portal is easily expandable and thus forms a future-proof technical basis for future (web) projects at UZH.

Lehre und Studium

Die Geschäftsprozesse in Lehre und Studium werden weitgehend von SAPplus-Applikationen unterstützt. Das Angebot an SAP-basierten Online-Services für die Studierenden und die Dozierenden und Mitarbeitenden wird laufend ausgebaut und mit mobilfähigen Technologien erweitert, so z.B. das Vorlesungsverzeichnis oder die Bewerbung auf Immatrikulation, welche auf der neuen Technologie SAP UI5 basieren.

Studierendenadministration

Als Studierendenadministration wird die Administration der auf die Studierenden bezogenen Daten und die Abwicklung der dafür notwendigen Schritte von der Bewerbung bis zur Exmatrikulation verstanden. Neben der Bewerbung und der Exmatrikulation gehören dazu unter anderem auch:

  • Immatrikulation
  • Semestereinschreibung
  • Fakturierung der Studiengebühren
  • Offizielle Bescheinigungen
  • Beurlaubungen
  • Mobilität Out und Mobilität In

Diese Prozesse im Wechselspiel zwischen den Studierenden, der Abteilung Studierende und den Fakultäten werden SAP-unterstützt abgewickelt, wo möglich mit entsprechenden Online-Services wie z.B. für die Bewerbung um Immatrikulation, Studienprogramm- oder Studiengangswechsel, Urlaubsgesuche oder die Änderung von Kontaktdaten.

Bewerbung

Die Studieninteressierten erfassen ihre Bewerbung im entsprechenden Online-Service, welcher mit der neuen SAP-Technologie UI5 realisiert wurde. Anschliessend folgt eine automatische Übermittlung ins SAP Student Lifecycle Management (SLCM), wo die Anträge von der Abteilung Studierende kontrolliert und abgearbeitet werden. Dazu gehören beispielsweise das Anlegen der Bewerberin oder des Bewerbers, die Korrespondenz bei fehlenden Unterlagen, die Fakturierung der Anmeldegebühr, die Genehmigung der Zulassung oder das Ausstellen des Zulassungsbescheides.

Erfolgt aufgrund der vorliegenden Akten eine Zulassung, erhalten die künftigen Studierenden eine Rechnung über die Studiengebühren und sind mit deren Bezahlung rechtsgültig immatrikuliert. Sie erhalten den Studierendenausweis, die Studienbestätigungen und ihre Zugangsdaten für Internet und Netzwerk der UZH.

Semestereinschreibung

Bereits an der UZH eingeschriebene Studierende werden für jedes Semester automatisch wieder eingeschrieben, damit sie weiterhin Leistungen der UZH beanspruchen können. Über eine App im Studierendenportal können die Studierenden davon abweichende Anträge stellen wie beispielsweise:

  • Studiengangswechsel mit Stufenanstieg
  • Studiengangs- oder Studienprogrammwechsel
  • Gesuch um Urlaub oder Praktikum
  • Exmatrikulation

Verrechnung von Studiengebühren

Nach der Semestereinschreibung erhalten die Studierenden die Rechnung über die Semestergebühren. Nach dem Eingang der Zahlung haben sie Zugang zur Online-Modulbuchung und sie erhalten den gültigen Studierendenausweis sowie die Semesterbescheinigungen.

Im Falle von irrtümlicherweise zu viel bezahlten Studiengebühren steht ein Online-Service zur Verfügung, über welchen der gesamte Rückzahlungsprozess inkl. Korrespondenz und Zahlungsverkehr systemunterstützt abgewickelt werden kann.

Studienverlauf

Für die Studierenden aller Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge wird der gesamte Studienverlauf über SAP Student Lifecycle Management (SLCM) abgewickelt. Dieser umfasst u.a. Themen wie Leistungsanerkennung, Modulbuchung, Leistungsübersicht, Sperren, Studiengangswechsel oder den Studienabschluss inkl. Diplome und Urkunden. Auch dazu stehen den Studierenden verschiedene Online-Services zur Verfügung, über welche sie beispielsweise ihre Leistungsübersicht einsehen können, Module buchen oder den Studienabschluss beantragen können.

Studierendenportal

Das Studierendenportal vereinigt alle relevanten Informationen zum Studium an einem Ort. Die Web-App mit den typischen Kacheln bietet den Studierenden zum Beispiel ihre Einschreibungen, ihren persönlichen Stundenplan, eine Übersicht ihrer bislang erzielten ECTS-Credits, den elektronischen Leistungsausweis, eine Übersicht ihrer Anträge oder die Links zum Vorlesungsverzeichnis und zu OLAT.

Modulbuchung

Ab HS22 bietet die UZH ihren Studierenden eine Modulbuchungslösung, mit welcher die Module ohne Zeitdruck und auf effiziente und intuitive Art und Weise gebucht werden können.

Vorbereitend zur Modulbuchung müssen die Studierenden sicherstellen, dass sie die Studiengebühren bezahlt haben. Sie planen, welche Veranstaltungen sie im nächsten Semester belegen wollen und erstellen eine Merkliste im Vorlesungsverzeichnis.

Über eine App im Studierendenportal können, während den entsprechenden Fristen, die Module aus der Merkliste gebucht oder angefragt werden. Die Buchungsmodule (nicht platzbeschränkte Modul), können direkt gebucht und storniert werden. Für Anfrage- und Bewerbungsmodule (platzbeschränkte Module), stellen die Studierenden während den vorgegebenen Fristen Anfragen resp. Bewerbungen. Die Platzvergabe für Anfragemodule erfolgt nach Ablauf der Anfragefrist aufgrund von im Vorlesungsverzeichnis publizierten Platzvergabekriterien. Wer in einem Anfragemodul keinen Platz erhält, wird in eine Warteliste aufgenommen. Bei Bewerbungsmodulen wird die Platzvergabe manuell durch die Fakultäten vorgenommen.

Die Studierenden werden per E-Mail über die Zuteilung ihrer Anfrage- und Bewerbungsmodule informiert. Ausserdem bietet ihnen eine App im Studierendenportal eine Übersicht über alle ihre Buchungs-, Anfrage- und Bewerbungs-Module mit dem jeweiligen Status. Über diese App können während den jeweiligen Fristen beispielsweise auch Anfragen und Bewerbungen zurückgezogen werden, bei Anfragemodulen kann die Priorität angepasst werden oder Bewerbungsmodule können mit Bemerkungen und Dokumenten ergänzt werden.

Den Mitarbeitenden stehen für die Modulbuchung verschiedene Apps im CM-Portal zur Verfügung, in welchen sie z.B. die Anfragemodule und das Platzvergabeverfahren konfigurieren können oder eine Übersicht über die aktuellen Anfragen und Bewerbungen erhalten.

Leistungsübersicht / Leistungsausweis

Die Leistungsübersicht ist für alle Studierenden der Universität Zürich zugänglich, die in einem Bachelor- oder Master-Studiengang eingeschrieben sind oder mindestens ein Studienprogramm mit ECTS-Kreditpunkten belegen. Die Leistungsübersicht zeigt den Studierenden jederzeit alle an der Universität Zürich gebuchten, stornierten oder absolvierten Module und andere, auch extern erbrachte, angerechnete Leistungen.

Der semesterweise erstellte Leistungsausweis wird den Studierenden elektronisch im Studierendenportal zur Verfügung gestellt. Bei Bedarf können dort auch auf Sicherheitspapier gedruckte und allenfalls beglaubigte Exemplare bestellt werden.

Fehlversuchscontrolling und Sperren

Zweimal jährlich wird nach der Noteneingabe ins SAP SLCM durch die Fakultäten ermittelt, welche Studierenden in welchen Studienprogrammen einen Fehlversuch erzielt haben. Diese Fehlversuche werden in der elektronischen Studierendenakte vermerkt und es wird ermittelt, in welchen Fällen Studierende aufgrund von zu vielen Fehlversuchen sogar von einem Studienprogramm oder Studiengang ausgeschlossen werden.

Die SAP-Lösung für das Fehlversuchscontrolling umfasst alle mit Kreditpunkten für das ECTS ausgestatteten Studiengänge und Studienprogramme auf Bachelor- und Masterstufe. Für diese Studiengänge und -programme unterstützt sie den Prozess vollständig von der Ermittlung der Fehlversuche von Studierenden bis hin zum Setzen der Sperren und der entsprechenden Korrespondenz an die Studierenden.

Für die Ermittlung der Sperren werden die in den jeweiligen Rahmenverordnungen erwähnten Kriterien geprüft und als Sperrvorschlag in SAP SLCM angezeigt. Die Dekanate verifizieren diese und schliessen den Prozess mit dem Setzen der Sperren ab. In denjenigen Fällen, in denen jemand eine Sperre auf ein Studienprogramm oder Studiengang erhält, auf die eine Einschreibung besteht, erfolgt eine endgültige Abweisung daraus.

Studienabschluss

Die Studierenden der UZH lösen ihren Studienabschluss mit wenigen Ausnahmen selbst aus. Hierzu füllen sie ein Formular aus, welches sie sich in den Online-Services herunterladen können, und senden dieses ans Dekanat. Durch diesen Formular-Download wird im SAP ein Workflow gestartet, welcher den Graduierungsablauf steuert.

Die Dekanatsmitarbeitenden prüfen dann mittels SAP SLCM, ob die Studierenden die formalen Anforderungen erfüllen und ob keine Sperrvermerke, beispielsweise wegen offenen Gebührenrechnungen, vorliegen. Sollten die Bedingungen für den Abschluss nicht erfüllt sein, erhalten die betroffenen Studierenden ein entsprechendes Schreiben und können ihren Abschluss zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt nochmals beantragen.

Wenn die Studierenden alle Voraussetzungen erfüllen, stellt das Dekanat die erzielten Leistungen den fachlichen Anforderungen für den Abschluss gegenüber. Fällt diese Anrechnungsprüfung positiv aus, wird der Studienabschluss gewährt und die Abschlussdokumente werden erstellt. Sind die Anforderungen noch nicht erfüllt, resultiert dies wiederum in einem entsprechenden Schreiben und der Möglichkeit, den Studienabschluss nach Erbringen der fehlenden Leistungen erneut zu beantragen.

Alle diese Schritte werden durch den Workflow im SAP SLCM unterstützt. Dieser führt die beteiligten Mitarbeitenden Schritt für Schritt durch den gesamten Prozess vom Antrag der Studierenden bis zur Ausstellung der Abschlussdokumente. Dies setzt komplexe systemtechnische Abbildungen und Verknüpfungen von Anforderungen, Reglementen, Studiengängen und Studienprogrammen, erzielten Leistungen etc. voraus, die in der Graduierung alle zusammenspielen. Als Grundlage sind beispielsweise die vollständige Abbildung des Lehrangebotes in SAP SLCM zu nennen oder die Anforderungskataloge, welche die für den Abschluss erforderlichen Kriterien beinhalten und pro Studienprogramm erfasst werden. Auch die Informationen zu den Studierenden und ihren besuchten Modulen haben an dieser Stelle eine zentrale Bedeutung. Für die Anrechnungsprüfung selbst sind dann nebst den an der UZH erzielten Leistungen unter Umständen auch Leistungen zu berücksichtigen, die an anderen Universitäten erzielt wurden; oder es müssen allfällig erteilte Auflagen und Bedingungen aus der Masterzulassung einbezogen werden.

Lehrangebots- und Semesterplanung

Für sämtliche Studiengänge, welche die UZH anbietet, sind die semesterunabhängigen Elemente wie angebotene Studienprogramme bis auf Stufe der Module im sogenannten Studiengangskatalog im SAP Student Lifecycle Management (SLCM) abgebildet. In der wiederkehrenden Semesterplanung werden dazu die jeweils angebotenen Veranstaltungen angelegt. Im Gegensatz zu den Modulen wird diesen ein Durchführungszeitpunkt, eine Dozentin oder ein Dozent und ein Raum zugewiesen.

Die Abbildung des Lehrangebots der UZH findet vielerorts Verwendung, beispielsweise

  • für das Ausstellen von Bescheinigungen für die Studierenden
  • für die Anzeige in der Online-Modulbuchung
  • zur Publikation im Vorlesungsverzeichnis der UZH oder in den verschiedenen Studiengangs-Datenbanken wie beispielsweise www.swissuniversities.ch.

Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Seit 2016 verfügt die UZH über ein modernes Vorlesungsverzeichnis, welches auch auf Smartphones oder Tablets eine übersichtliche Nutzung erlaubt. Es bietet verschiedene Such- und Filtermöglichkeiten, so dass gezielt nach Veranstaltungen gesucht werden kann. Ausserdem bietet es eine Kalendersicht, in welcher zeitliche Überschneidungen sichtbar werden und die auch als Stundenplan ausgedruckt werden kann. Auch eine speicherbare Merkliste steht den Studierenden zur Verfügung.

In unserer Knowhow-Datenbank finden Sie historische Informationen zu den Veranstaltungen bis ins Jahr 1833.

CM-Portal

Mit dem CM-Portal haben die Mitarbeitenden der UZH, die im Bereich Lehre und Studium arbeiten, einen zentralen Einstiegspunkt, der einen schnellen Zugang zu den wichtigsten Applikationen für ihr Tagesgeschäft ermöglicht. Dazu gehören beispielsweise der Stundenplan, die Teilnehmendenliste oder die Übersicht gehaltener Veranstaltungen für Dozierende, das Antrags-Cockpit, die Sperrverwaltung oder das Vorlesungsverzeichnis, aber auch Evaluationen, OLAT und der Service Desk etc.

Das CM-Portal entspricht den neusten technischen Anforderungen und Standards punkto Mobile Device Access und Browser-Kompatibilitäten sowie Datenschutz und verfügt über eine hervorragende User-Experience. Das CM-Portal ist leicht erweiterbar und bildet somit eine zukunftssichere technische Basis für zukünftige (Web-)Projekte an der UZH.