FAQ’s concerning tools for videoconference (especially ZOOM)

1. What is ZOOM typically used for?

ZOOM is suitable for courses, seminars, webinars, interactive lectures, online meetings with up to 300 participants and public events. For larger numbers of participants in lectures and events, UZH has a limited number of licenses for webinars with up to 500 or 1000 participants. These licenses must be applied for via MELS/AV Services separately, using the appropriate form (see https://www.zi.uzh.ch/en/support/audio-video.zoom.html).

ZOOM is also suitable for courses with feedback functions and interactive elements.

For lectures, asynchronous solutions (e.g. video recording at the desk) are recommended.

2. When should ZOOM not be used?

Under no circumstances may ZOOM be used for seminars and lectures in which sensitive data is exchanged (e.g. patient data in the context of clinical seminars of the medical faculty, psychological consultations, supervision by psychologists).

If personal data is exchanged, special caution is required and a risk assessment must be carried out.

ZOOM should not be used for UZH internal meetings for privacy and security reasons.

Instead, Microsoft Teams should be used for such conferences and meetings.

3. What is the advantage of the ZOOM campus license compared to ZOOM’s free version or single licenses

In order to cope with the Corona crisis, UZH has acquired a campus license for the ZOOM software. This contract includes a Global Data Processing Addendum as part of a framework agreement with SWITCH (or the European organisation Géant), which ensures compliance with the EU-GDPR. This Global Data Processing Addendum is defined as a requirement by the Data Protection Commissioner of the Canton of Zurich for using ZOOM in the public sector during the Corona crisis. Individual licences and the free version however don’t guarantee EU-GDPR compliance.

According to the Data Protection Commissioner of the Canton of Zurich (state supervisory authority of UZH), ZOOM may only be used for the time of the Corona crisis and on the basis of the campus licence. Once the crisis is over, the situation must be reassessed.

The use of ZOOM is subject to further conditions according to the data protection officer:

  • For recordings, local storage is preferable to storage in the cloud.
  • If storage in the cloud is used, a storage location in Europe must be selected.
  • Attention Tracking must be disabled before using ZOOM.
  • Videoconferences must be protected with a password.
  • The use of the ZOOM App is preferfable to the browser-based usage.
  • Participation in ZOOM conferences via telephone is completely unencrypted and is therefore not recommended.

5. What is the position of the Federal Commissioner for Data Protection of the Federal Republic of Germany on ZOOM?

The Federal Commissioner for Data Protection of the Federal Republic of Germany advises the use of alternative offers. Users should question their communication possibilities instead of using the best-known offers for reasons of convenience.

He also advises against communication via ZOOM if personal data is involved, as the communication is not necessarily encrypted end-to-end. He also criticises the non-transparent data transfer, for example to Facebook.

6. The current press says that ZOOM is careless with data. Is this true?

ZOOM has revised its privacy policy since the start of the Corona crisis. It says: «We do not sell your personal data» and «Your meetings are yours. We do not monitor them or even store them after your meeting is done.» ZOOM has thus made positive amendments, but there are still better alternatives in terms of data security and data protection.

Attention tracking, which has also come under criticism and can be used by lecturers to monitor participants, has since been switched off by default.

7. Do I need to take any special precations if I want to use ZOOM?

If personal data is shared via ZOOM, general caution is required, and appropriate protective measures must be taken to address the risks. Data protection requirements must be assessed according to the sensitivity of the personal data exchanged in a specific case and the risks to the data subjects arising from data processing. In most cases, it is not only the participants of the video conference who are affected, but also other persons, e.g. patients, customers, students, employees.

The use of information about clearly identified or contextually identifiable persons (e.g. photographs and film recordings of students, patients, etc.) must therefore be avoided, unless the persons concerned have agreed to a publication for this purpose.

Please observe the recommendations of the Data Protection Commissioner of the Canton of Zurich (see above).

8. What about ZOOM’s recording function?

If video conferences are to be recorded, the persons involved must first and foremost agree to the recording. Without the consent of the persons involved in the conversation, you could be prosecuted.

If an event is to be recorded and made available offline, make sure that the participants have switched off their video functionality and only the lecturer's screen is recorded. If question or discussions are recorded, the participants must be informed accordingly.

In line with the specifications of the Data Protection Commissioner of the Canton of Zurich, the recording should be locally stored and not in the cloud. If cloud storage is used, a storage location in Europe should be chosen.

9. Does ZOOM use end-to-end encryption?

When using ZOOM, you must be aware that there is no real end-to-end encryption of the video data streams, but encryption is only between participants and the server where the data is available unencrypted. If video conferences are recorded or files are shared, these contents are usually at least temporarily stored unencrypted on the provider's server.

10. Can existing accounts be converted from single licences and free versions to a UZH campus licence?

Yes, this is possible and is strongly recommended (for data protection reasons). Guidance can be found here.

11. What must be considered with regards to copyright?

If works (pictures, texts etc.) of other authors are used in online courses and presentations, the source must always be indicated (good scientific practice). Works from the Internet also enjoy copyright protection.

You should also point out to students how the recordings of the courses and the presentations, videos, etc. contained therein may be used. This can be done, for example, by adding the following remark: "This work is protected by copyright and may only be used for teaching purposes at the University of Zurich. The author's consent is required for any other usage, in particular distribution via the Internet".

12. Where can I find more information and technical support for other video conferencing tools?

Central IT provides information via the following links:

https://www.zi.uzh.ch/en/teaching-and-research/event-support/videoconference/desktop-vc.html

UZH’s data protection office has carried out an assessment of available online tools, see link:

https://www.dsd.uzh.ch/dam/jcr:e8615576-6aca-40cb-9b6e-7414ce1370ab/Online-Tools_de.pdf

The Data Protection Commissioner of the Canton of Zurich has published a very comprehensive list of products for digital collaboration, see link:

https://dsb.zh.ch/internet/datenschutzbeauftragter/de/themen/digitale-zusammenarbeit.html

The Federal Commissioner for Data Protection of the Federal Republic of Germany has published a selection guide for messenger systems with audio/video support, see link:

https://www.bfdi.bund.de/SharedDocs/Downloads/DE/Datenschutz/Auswahlhilfe-Messenger-Systeme.html?nn=13881424

FAQs Videokonferenz-Tools (insbesondere ZOOM)

1. Wozu ist ZOOM geeignet? Was sind typische Anwendungen?

ZOOM ist geeignet für Kurse, Seminare, Webinare, interaktive Vorlesungen, Online-Meetings mit bis zu 300 Teilnehmenden und Veranstaltungen mit öffentlichem Charakter. Für grössere Teilnehmendenzahlen an Vorlesungen und Veranstaltungen hat die UZH eine begrenzte Anzahl an Lizenzen für Webinare bis 500 resp. bis 1000 Teilnehmende. Diese Lizenzen müssen bei der Zentralen Informatik mittels Formular separat beantragt werden (siehe https://www.zi.uzh.ch/de/support/audio-video/zoom.html).

ZOOM ist auch für Lehrveranstaltungen mit Feedbackfunktionen und interaktiven Elementen geeignet.

Für Vorlesungen werden asynchrone Lösungen (z.B. Videoaufzeichnung am Schreibtisch) empfohlen.

 

2. Wozu sollte ZOOM nicht verwendet werden?

Für Seminare und Vorlesungen, bei denen heikle Daten ausgetauscht werden (bspw. Patientendaten im Rahmen von klinischen Seminaren der Medizinischen Fakultät, psychologische Beratungen, Supervisionen von Psychologen), darf ZOOM unter keinen Umständen verwendet werden.

Werden personenbezogene Daten ausgetauscht, ist Vorsicht geboten und eine Risikoabschätzung vorzunehmen.

Für UZH-interne Meetings soll ZOOM ebenfalls nicht verwendet werden.

Für derartige Konferenzen und Meetings soll aus datenschutz- und sicherheitstechnischen Überlegungen Microsoft Teams verwendet werden.

3. Was ist der Vorteil der ZOOM-Campus-Lizenz im Vergleich zur Gratisversion resp. Einzellizenzen?

Für die Bewältigung der Corona-Krise hat die UZH eine Campus-Lizenz für die Software ZOOM erworben. Mittels Rahmenabkommen von SWITCH (resp. der europäischen Organisation Géant) konnte die Einhaltung der EU-DSGVO in einem Global Data Processing Addendum vereinbart werden, womit ein zusätzlicher Datenschutz gewährleistet ist. Ein Abschluss dieses Global Data Processing Addendums wird auch vom Datenschutzbeauftragten des Kantons Zürich verlangt. Einzellizenzen sowie die Gratisversion sind hingegen nicht EU-DSGVO-konform.

4. Wird ZOOM von der Datenschutzbeauftragten des Kantons Zürich empfohlen?

Gemäss der Datenschutzbeauftragten des Kantons Zürich darf ZOOM nur mit der Campus-Lizenz und nur für die Zeit während der Corona-Krise eingesetzt werden. Nach Abschluss der Krise muss die Situation neu beurteilt werden.

Die Verwendung von ZOOM unterliegt gemäss der Datenschutzbeauftragten weiteren Bedingungen:

  • Bei Aufnahmen ist eine lokale Speicherung einer Speicherung in der Cloud vorzuziehen.
  • Wird ein Speicherort in der Cloud gewählt, ist ein Speicherort in Europa zu wählen.
  • Das Attention Tracking muss vor dem Einsatz von ZOOM deaktiviert sein.
  • Videokonferenzen sind mit einem Passwort zu schützen.
  • Die Verwendung der ZOOM-App ist der browsergestützten Nutzung vorzuziehen.
  • Die Teilnahme an ZOOM-Konferenzen über Telefon erfolgt gänzlich unverschlüsselt und ist nicht zu empfehlen.

5. Welche Haltung zu ZOOM hat der Bundesbeauftragte für den Datenschutz der Bundesrepublik Deutschland?

Der Bundesbeauftragte für den Datenschutz der Bundesrepublik Deutschland rät zur Verwendung von alternativen Angeboten. Nutzerinnen und Nutzer sollen ihre Kommunikationsmöglichkeiten hinterfragen, statt aus Bequemlichkeitsgründen die bekanntesten Angebote zu benützen.

Er rät zudem von der Kommunikation über ZOOM ab, wenn personenbezogene Daten im Spiel sind, da die Kommunikation teilweise nicht Ende-zu-Ende verschlüsselt ist. Ebenso bemängelt er die intransparente Datenweitergabe bspw. an Facebook.

6. In der aktuellen Presse heisst es, ZOOM würde leichtsinnig mit Daten umgehen. Stimmt das?

ZOOM hat seine Datenschutzhinweise (Privacy Policy) seit Beginn der Corona-Krise überarbeitet. Hier wird erwähnt: «Wir verkaufen Ihre personenbezogenen Daten nicht» und «Ihre Meetings gehören Ihnen. Wir überwachen sie nicht und speichern sie nach Abschluss Ihres Meetings auch nicht». ZOOM hat damit bereits positive Korrekturen vorgenommen, es gibt aber betreffend Datensicherheit und Datenschutz nach wie vor bessere Alternativen.

Das ebenfalls in die Kritik geratene Aufmerksamkeitstracking, welches einer Überwachung von Teilnehmenden seitens der Dozierenden dienen kann, wurde per default abgeschaltet.

7. Sind spezielle Vorkehrungen zu treffen, wenn ich ZOOM benützen will?

Werden personenbezogene Daten über ZOOM geteilt, ist generell Vorsicht geboten, resp. es sind dem Risiko angemessene Schutzmassnahmen vorzusehen. Die datenschutzrechtlichen Anforderungen sind daran zu bemessen, wie heikel die im konkreten Fall ausgetauschten personenbezogenen Daten sind und welche Risiken aus dieser Datenverarbeitung für die betroffenen Personen erwachsen. Meist sind ja nicht nur die Teilnehmenden der Videokonferenz betroffen, sondern es können auch andere Personen Gegenstand einer Kommunikation sein, bspw. Patienten, Kundinnen, Studierende, Mitarbeitende.

Auf die Verwendung von Informationen über eindeutig bestimmte oder im Kontext bestimmbare Personen (bspw. Foto- und Filmaufnahmen von Studierenden, Patientinnen etc.) ist daher zu verzichten, ausser die betroffenen Personen haben in eine Veröffentlichung zu diesem Zweck zugestimmt.

Sodann sind die Empfehlungen der Datenschutzbeauftragten des Kantons Zürich einzuhalten (siehe oben).

8. Wie steht es um die Aufnahme-Funktion von ZOOM?

Sollen Videokonferenzen aufgezeichnet werden, müssen in erster Linie die beteiligten Personen damit einverstanden sein. Ohne Einverständnis der am Gespräch beteiligten Personen kann man sich strafbar machen.

Wenn eine Veranstaltung mitgeschnitten und zur Verfügung gestellt werden soll, ist darauf zu achten, dass die Teilnehmenden die Video-Funktionalität ausgeschaltet haben und nur der Bildschirm des Dozierenden aufgenommen wird. Sollen Frage- oder Diskussionsrunden aufgenommen werden, sind die Teilnehmenden zu informieren.

Sodann soll gemäss Vorgabe der Datenschutzbeauftragten des Kantons Zürich eine lokale Speicherung einer Speicherung in der Cloud vorgezogen werden. Wer dennoch in der Cloud speichert, soll zumindest einen Speicherort in Europa wählen.

9. Wie steht es um die Ende-zu-Ende-Verschlüsselung von ZOOM?

>Bei der Verwendung von ZOOM muss man sich bewusst sein, dass keine wirkliche Ende-zu-Ende Verschlüsselung der Videodatenströme stattfindet, sondern die Verschlüsselung erfolgt nur zwischen den Teilnehmenden und dem Server, auf dem die Daten unverschlüsselt vorliegen. Werden Videokonferenzen aufgezeichnet oder Dateien geteilt, so werden diese Inhalte in der Regel zumindest vorübergehend unverschlüsselt auf dem Server des Anbieters gespeichert.

10. Können bestehende Accounts von ZOOM-Einzel- oder Gratislizenzen auf die UZH-Campus-Lizenz überführt werden?

Ja, das ist möglich und wird dringend empfohlen (erhöhter Datenschutz). Eine Anleitung finden Sie hier

11. Was ist betreffend das Urheberrecht zu beachten?

Werden in den Online-Lehrveranstaltungen und Präsentationen Werke (Bilder, Texte etc.) von anderen Urhebern verwendet, so muss die Quelle stets angegeben werden (gute wissenschaftliche Praxis). Auch Werke aus dem Internet geniessen urheberrechtlichen Schutz.

Zudem ist es sinnvoll, die Studierenden darauf hinzuweisen, wie die Aufzeichnungen der Lehrveranstaltungen und darin enthaltene Präsentationen, Videos etc. verwendet werden dürfen. Dies kann bspw. durch Anbringung des folgenden Vermerks geschehen: «Dieses Werk ist urheberrechtlich geschützt und darf nur zu Lehrzwecken an der Universität Zürich verwendet werden. Für eine weitergehende Nutzung, insbesondere das Verbreiten über das Internet, ist eine Einwilligung des Urhebers erforderlich

12. Wo finde ich weitere Informationen und technische Hilfestellungen für weitere Videokonferenz-Tools?

Die Zentrale Informatik hat hierzu diverse Informationen bereitgestellt:

https://www.zi.uzh.ch/de/teaching-and-research/event-support/videoconference/desktop-vc.html >

Die Abteilung Datenschutzrecht der UZH hat eine Einschätzung verfügbarer Online-Tools vorgenommen:

https://www.dsd.uzh.ch/dam/jcr:e8615576-6aca-40cb-9b6e-7414ce1370ab/Online-Tools_de.pdf

Der Datenschutzbeauftragte des Kantons Zürich hat eine sehr umfassende Produkteliste zur digitalen Zusammenarbeit publiziert:

https://dsb.zh.ch/internet/datenschutzbeauftragter/de/themen/digitale-zusammenarbeit.html

Der Bundesbeauftragte für den Datenschutz der Bundesrepublik Deutschland hat eine Auswahlhilfe für Messengersysteme mit Audio-/Videounterstützung publiziert:

https://www.bfdi.bund.de/SharedDocs/Downloads/DE/Datenschutz/Auswahlhilfe-Messenger-Systeme.html?nn=13881424